Next Deanery Synod Meetings:
Thu 21st Feb, Wed 26th June and Tue 22nd Oct. All will be 7.00 for 7.30pm. Locations TBC.

Welcome to the Deanery of Severn Vale

The Deanery of Severn Vale, formed in 2009 from the former deanery of Gloucester North and a large portion of Forest North, sits within the Diocese of Gloucester, which is part of the wider Church of England. Our national church is part of the global Anglican Communion, which stretches across over 165 countries worldwide. To find a church in our deanery (and further afield) you can use 'A Church Near You', an excellent parish finder for the Church of England.

Visit the Diocese of Gloucester website Visit the Church of England website Visit the Anglican Communion website Visit the 'A Church Near You' website

The deanery comprises 12 Benefices made up between them of 46 parishes with 47 churches. Geographically the Deanery forms a large area from Mitcheldean in the Forest of Dean in the west to Preston in the north-west of the county, containing parishes on both sides of the Severn north of Gloucester, then incorporating a swathe of villages round the eastern side of Gloucester, with St Mary’s at Great Witcombe its most south-easterly church. Most of the area comprises small rural parishes, with Churchdown, Brockworth and Newent being more urban and having greater populations and density of housing.